Ali’s No-Crust Quiche

I have a lot of time on my hands now that I am unemployed.  What I don’t have is a lot of money.  When one of the few enjoyments we have left is sitting down to a meal: it’s time to get creative and serve brunch.

I like Quiche but I hate to make piecrust.  I’ve found in place of a traditional piecrust lining the pan with day old French bread works.  But today there was no good left over bread.  Getting inventive I did have five sweet potato pancakes leftover.  I cut them in half and would use them as today’s quiche crust.

At $3.00 a pound for loose breakfast sausage, which I would have used the whole pound for a plain sausage and egg breakfast.  Today I used a third.  I browned it in my cast iron pan with a tablespoon of olive oil, adding a couple of tablespoons of finely chopped leftover red onion, and half a chopped green pepper till sweated.  Sprinkled with salt and pepper.  Remove from heat, place aside meat mixture to cool a few moments.  Place the halved potato pancakes on the bottom of the cast iron pan, top with meat, vegetable mixture and okay there was approximately, 3 ounces of the 8 ounce block of Colby Jack cheese left.  So, I grated and added it on top.  Set aside.

In a bowl, mix eggs, flour, milk, cream, salt and pepper.  Add on top in cast iron pan.  Top evenly with melt butter and bake 30 minutes @ 400’.  Serves 4.  A Big “Wow!”

Left over Sweet Potato Pancakes – or (Homefries) or (French or Italian Bread)

1-tablespoon olive oil

1/3-pound ground breakfast sausage or (¾- cup leftover ham)

3 tablespoons chopped onion

½ Green pepper

3 oz Grated Cheese: Colby jack or (Cheddar or Swiss)

4 Eggs

1-tablespoon flour

1-cup milk

½ cup heavy cream

¼ teaspoon salt

Fresh ground pepper to taste

1-2 Tablespoons Melted Butter

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

