Coming Out in Social Media

Last night, my girlfriend Sue started a bucket list on Facebook.  Sue, a bartender amongst her many talents, topped the list with “A Pub Crawl in Ireland!!”  I chimed in early on and simply complained about warm Guinness, liking my beer chilled the American way.  I also joked about starting this list so early?  In the movie: The Bucket List, the men were on their deathbeds when Morgan Freeman’s character came up with the concept.

Okay Susie, we know you like to get the party started!  Perhaps she’s thinking this might be a grand way to celebrate the big five-o?  Then she came back prodding me to add to the list.  I don’t know why I didn’t see this coming.

After some thought and courage I added to the list…

“Okay, as unemployment has become a way of life… I’ve begun the great manuscript, so finishing it, getting it published, and on the NY Times bestseller list would have to be on the top of my list… Promise to join you in Ireland upon publication.”

After all, it would take some money to do a Trans-Atlantic pub-crawl.

I want to credit Kristen Lamb for giving me the courage to come out!

http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/2010/12/10/writer-reality-check/

How did you come out?  Please share your comment!

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coming Out in Social Media

  1. jannatwrites says:

    Now it’s on the list, you have to do it. I’ll watch for it 🙂

    • Aligaeta says:

      I’m writing, I’m writing… It’s nice to have you following along. I’m looking forward to your reaction to the blog shared on your post. It was very interesting although I didn’t click on the links yet.

  2. mimibear says:

    I have on my list of things to do a pub crawl in Ireland as well. It includes my two sisters who are so much fun when not around their husbands 🙂
    Thanks for sharing the Kriston Lamb link. It was important for me to hear that reality. I wish you luck in your goal to publish and cheer you on for coming out of the author closet!

    • Aligaeta says:

      Well thanks so much for your comment. You brought me big smiles. Funny that the Ireland pub crawl is on your list also. Ha, I hope they’ll leave the hubby’s home then so you girls can kick it up! I’ll be busy writing and then I’ll get a good Irish load on!

Leave a Reply

