The End

Regardless of how we want stories to end, believable is most satisfying: when it ends the way we don’t want it to, but the way it has to, when the reader has to struggle with acceptance that the fairytale ending didn’t come to pass, it makes it all real, and the story stays with them forever.

Some lives face one tragedy after another.  A slice of life that ends at the altar following the words “I do” or in the delivery room with at that first cry of welcome into the world would be happy endings, yet how satisfying is it to the reader who is left wanting more?

We can end the story at the college graduation with caps flying in the air or six months later still unemployed with the loans coming due.  How about the writer typing “The End” on the manuscript, looking up around the room to find their lover had packed up and moved out without being noticed.  Now, that would be one of my endings.  Life isn’t always fair.  There’s a price to pay for success.  I need to learn balance before graduating from blogging to book.  No NaNoWriMo for me : (

How does a writer find balance?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The End

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I agree with you…life isn’t always a fairy tale and I don’t think a novel’s ending should be either – unless it’s truly how the story feels like it should end.

    This line gave me a shiver: “How about the writer typing “The End” on the manuscript, looking up around the room to find their lover had packed up and moved out without being noticed. ” It is so easy to get caught up in something that you lose sight of everthing else.

    I wish I could pass on some great advice about striking a balance, but I haven’t found the secret. I’m sorry 😦

    • Aligaeta says:

      Janna thank you for your comment. I guess I’ll have to keep counting heads (including prospective teenage runaways) till we find a solution for balance. I’m thinking no one will be packing if I stay behind on the laundry. And just in case… I’ll continue to carry on conversations while I type and remember to cook them dinner.

Leave a Reply

