The Journey

Social networking can be very time consuming to those with busy schedules, between working a full time job and then meeting the demands of family life.  Regardless, it seems at any free moment of the day people are updating their status, posting on walls, and texting message responses.  The other day, my niece Megan commented on being able to do so while on the toilet.  I simply asked her not to tell us when she does and received a cute “LOL” in reply.

Now for me, being a writer who doesn’t write, I continually stifle my responses on facebook, always cautious of the malicious reader who will twist my words, miss my good humor, or simply be an ass.  Well, to hell with them, this is my space, my time, and my voice.  Welcome to my world.  I have all the time in the world now to write.  I should be happy, yet I’m embarrassed to admit that I have all this time because I am presently unemployed.

Just last week, unemployed eleven months now, I received slack, first from an old friend, then from my son.  They put it right out there, the both of them demanding to know, why I am not writing?  I’ve exhausted myself each day with job searches, cover letters, and rewriting resumes excuses they didn’t need to hear.  They didn’t ask me what I was doing to find work, they asked why I wasn’t doing what I am perfectly capable of and loved to do.  I made excuses of the times we are in and the discouragement that overwhelms me then came to realize: there was no better time to write.

On facebook, last week I found yet another childhood friend.  Eva accepted my invitation and sent me a brief note last night saying it was so good hearing from me and what have I been doing?  Now, who wants to tell someone that you haven’t seen since you were kids that your life has had it bumps, that not only are you not where you want to be but that you feel you are nowhere.  Not at a beginning or an end, simply nowhere.  In the letter I wrote that I am searching for a future and the wonderful feelings I have remembering the people from our past.  In closing, I said I hoped she had love, health, and happiness in her life.

Eva’s profile had indicated nothing less than a nice family, career, and a good education. She was the suburban housewife.   She is who I wanted to be and who I am not.  Yet, I do have love, health, and on some days, if I let myself – happiness.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Journey

  1. Pingback: Your Invited… | Aligaeta's Blog

Leave a Reply

